Evasive Action. Rules are for breaking


Daily Prompt: Evasive Action

What’s the most significant secret you’ve ever kept? Did the truth ever come out?

Please note that comments are always closed on daily prompts. Pingbacks are always enabled; if you link to the prompt post on your blog, a link to your post will appear in the list below the prompt.

 

Secret? Drats, that was supposed to be a secret for Jan? You really should have known better than to trust me with a secret. Besides, I didn’t know. You know how I am with secrets. Well, sorry. I guess you know now. I mean, I mean that you can trust me with some stuff but, but sorry. You know how I love a good birthday party. I promise to keep it under raps this time. Well, you probably won’t trust me much on this one for Ginny. I won’t; I swear I won’t breathe a word to her. The whole thing will be a total surprise. You know how I love a good surprise party. But, earlier? That last party for Jan? I really never knew that it was to be a secret. It was a blast anyhow, wasn’t it? And, she never had a clue. It will be the same for her sister, she’ll have no clue. I guess I sorta owe you all after almost blowing that last one. I got it! I know how Ginny loves those, those who are they? I mean as a joke. Those Chippendale oh, I don’t think I will be able to get the real act, they probably cost a little too much. But maybe some other strip tease kinda acts. I promise, I really had no clue that that last thing was supposed to be a secret! Remember? Remember that act we got for Ginny and Adam’s engagement party? These faux Chippendale guys are the same. Laura will probably still have their number, or at least remember who they are. We’ll have some real fun with this one! What is the exact date that we’re lookin’ at? Oh, you probably won’t be telling me. I guess the wound from Jan’s party is a little too fresh. Tell you what. If it will make you feel any better, I will let you get the better of me on this party, a secret that I have coming on with any number of people we know. Yea, you are right. It doesn’t really work that way. It kinda has to be a surprise attack. How about if I give you a “Get out of Jail free” pass for the next time I get into…wait I swear that there won’t be a next time. Gee, I am just digging this hole deeper and deeper, eh? Maybe I should just shut up. I guess I am lucky to have a friend like you. Yes, if I can’t use the ol’ “Get out of jail” card, I got the “Friend” one right there as a backup. But really, I didn’t know that Jan’s birthday was supposed to be a secret, really. Trust me? Oh, if the CIA comes knocking on your door and asks if I can keep secrets tell them, tell them, “Mark, like a vault.” No, really, you can tell them the truth…no, don’t tell them that. Tell them that I am a fine upstanding citizen. Just the same, I don’t think that they will be making it around this way.     

Leave a Reply

