May 3 Daily Prompt: The Little Things. The Littlllleest things


May 3 Daily Prompt: The Little Things

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that defines your world but is often overlooked.

One of the things that I love that define me is often overlooked is my intelligence.

 

A little thing? May 3? I already screwed it up. Then I thought. The neighbors even said, “Quiet that thinking down! You are too loud!” May 3. That is an easy one. Today is the 15th and fifteen goes into three five times, or vice versa. I don’t really know, never was much at math. In fact, math was the only sport you could count on when I got my report card. I would come home with an F. Not a little F, but a big fat F. I went to a Nun school and the head Nun would always put Fs up on the board for at least a week. The only consolation was that I wasn’t the only F. There aren’t a lot of things I remember from Middle School, but that really blew me away. I am now in my early 50s but I still remember everybody making fun of me and my F. I guess that is because I had a couple. One in math and the other in gym, I think. Maybe you are wondering, “How in the hell could a 50 year-old get an F in gym?” I wondered the same thing until I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t in my early 50s back then. However, I was little and I was bad in math. Let’s just take…well 10 from 50 and you get 40, divide that by 3, May 3 about 50 years ago? Well, there isn’t anything real little about any of that, except, except…I was the littlesssst in my class. The Nuns and many of the other kids, especially that big kid, Pedro. Yes, Pedro. We would all chant, “And Pedro was his Namo!” Come to think of it, we must have been a bunch of lousy little Middle School terds who had nothing better than to chant at Pedro and make fun of the Holy Sisters of Martyrdom. Those Nuns had to be true martyrs to put up with us. In my case I spent eight years with them; I have the arthritic knuckles to prove it.  I would have to agree that one of the little things that define me is my intelligence. Oh…don’t get me wrong I don’t mean that I have little intelligence to be defined but my lack of intelligence has yet to be defined? It, my intelligence, which I’m sure there is much of, has been overlooked and not defined, I think. This is one of The Little Things.        

Leave a Reply

